Yesterday was my birthday. I turned 34. Whenever I mentioned the number I am in a minor shock. I do not feel any day over 28. I guess that’s why I look so young.

My sister left for Poland on Sunday. I have been feeling a little down. I don’t have that many friends here and not having her around means that I lost my partner in crime. Also, yesterday was my first day back at work. So, I wasn’t really looking forward to my birthday. I thought I would spend it alone, in my room, eating junk food and feeling sorry for myself. However, the day turned out to be pretty nice.

First, I was surprised by all the messages I got from people around the world, from Canada, Liberia, USA, UK, Australia and many other countries. My first serious boyfriend, whom I hadn’t contacted for years, messaged me, X sent me a lovely text, and I was surprised to hear from the Frenchie, too.

The teachers at work were busy, but promised to have a late lunch with me today to celebrate my day. At the moment I am waiting for them to come back from a meeting, so we can eat all those delicious Thai dishes we have in the fridge.

HE didn’t contact me the whole day yesterday, so I thought he had forgotten, which made me a little sad. At 5pm, while I was having a nap, he showed up at my door with an expensive cake and sang me ‘happy birthday’ on top of his lungs. He then took me to a romantic dinner to a place, which is owned by a guy I had dated before (he is not impressed by the amount of people I dated while he was away) and who treated us with cheesecake, which is believed to be the best in town. Then we moved to a bar, which is owned by a friend of ours, who also got me a lovely scarf. Then I met C for a quick drink. HE and I ended up at my place and you can imagine what happened next…
I was thinking about all those wonderful people, who remembered about me and I really do feel lucky to have them in my life. It doesn’t matter that we don’t see or hear from each other as often as we would like to, but it is a blessing to have them as my friends. I feel very much loved and appreciated. And HE is continuing to surprise me with all the things he has been doing for me lately. I am very happy to be spoiled like that, but I am also scared and sad that this will come to an end one day…

