It’s been almost 10 months since I left ‘home’ for the expat life in another country.
So many things happened, both good and bad.

After travelling in Bali and Australia I came to Thailand and started my TEFL course in January. The whole month was awesome. I didn’t have a man in my life, I felt great, silly, young, irresponsible and free again.

I finished the course and for 4 months I didn’t do anything. Well, I travelled a little, but mostly I partied and had a good time. The only terrible time I had was when I split up with the Frenchie. But straight after I went away to Cambodia and, thanks to new adventures, I completely forgot about the whole drama.

I came back and lived with the School Crush. I started working, he moved out and told me he didn’t want to date me.
I don’t think I went into this depressive mood because of him. I think it was more to do with the job. The fact that I was the only white person at school and didn’t have anyone to talk to. The kids were being naughty, the classes sometimes got out of hand. I am not really a teacher. A monthly course can’t teach you how to deal with misbehaving teenagers and how to actually teach them something. After a month I think I got my head around it. It is a hard work. It is harder than I expected to be, but I am beginning to enjoy it. Mostly because I finally figured out how to keep my students occupied.

I live in a studio flat. Again, I had to grow to like it. At first, I hated it. It resembles more like a hostel room than a flat. It doesn’t have a kitchen and the only good thing is the balcony. Now, I view it as my oasis. Somewhere, where I can rest after a hard day of work. And I really like it.

The best thing that happened to me in Thailand is the scooter. I love riding it. I realise how dangerous it is, but I can’t stop myself from speeding. And when I get out of town and go through the country roads…oh man! there is no better feeling. I do hope that one day I will upgrade to a bigger bike. I am so proud of myself that I can actually ride it. Back at home I couldn’t drive a car cause I was so scared. Now, I am the queen of the highway.

I love Chiang Mai. It is a perfect place for me. It is a big city with bars, restaurants, cinemas and cool places in the mountains, but at the same time it is pretty small. You can walk almost everywhere, or take a cheap local taxi wherever you go.
I miss theatre a little bit, but that’s all.

I love the fact how easy and cheap life is here. I earn 25,000 baht. The flat costs me 5,000. I get free lunches at school and spend around 30 baht for dinner and 1,000 baht a week on fruit, veg and supply of breakfast for the whole week. I also pay petrol, which is around 100 baht a week. The small money I earn is enough for a comfortable lifestyle.
There are things that are expensive, like clothes if you buy them in M&S or H&M (I don’t normally do much shopping, so that doeesn’t concern me), cosmetics (well, I spend a bit of money on that) and western food (I miss cheese so much!).

I still think of Europe a little. I wonder if I should and if I will ever go back. I wonder what to do with my retirement and my future career (if I decide to have one). I miss my parents a little and am afraid what is going to happen when they get ill.

But for now I am trying to enjoy my life as much as possible. I feel so funny when I think of how terrified I was when I was leaving. I think about myself then like about a different person.

Ok. finishing work now. Need to prepare myself for the meeting with the Polish guy. Can’t wait to see him 🙂

