These days I hang out with 2 people that out of 18 at our course decided to stay in Chiang Mai for a while. One is Marion and the other is Mr A – an American of an Asia decent. He’s a typical, geeky guy with thick glasses. I consider him a good friend of mine now. We’ve been spending a lot of time together. 

Two days ago we went out. I got a little lost and went back home by myself. I got to my room and tried to fall asleep, but after 10 minutes I received a text from Mr A asking where I was. He said he just came back, but he wanted to find a place called ‘fishbowl’ and if I wanted to go with him. Because I was still trying to sober up I thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to go and check out a new place in town. The only thing I didn’t know was that the ‘fishbowl’ was actually a brothel. He told me when we were on our way there.

Mr A is a kind of guy who talks a lot about having sex, but when it comes to actually picking girls up he is usually to scared. That’s why he thought going to a brothel would be a good idea. I tried to convince him otherwise, but he wasn’t having any of it. He didn’t say anything, but I think he wanted me to go with him because he wanted to feel more secure. 

We spend an hour looking for the place. We got lost, went to some quiet, dead streets. We finally found a place where some Thais were hanging out outside. 

The place looked like a garage with metal shutters with only a few lights. The doors were closed. Posh cars were stopping outside of it and little Thai women got out of them and disappeared behind the door of the shack. I only got a glimpse of what was inside – red couches and Thai girls and Thai men hanging inside.

Here’s a thing: Thai men regularly go to brothels, but they are not open about it like the white guys. The brothels for Thais are hidden. Most of the time you don’t know what’s going on behind the closed doors. They are very discrete about it. 

We stood outside of the building for a couple of minutes. There were 2 Thai men standing with us. ‘You want boom boom’ – asked ME one of them. I turned around and Mr A was standing there, watching his feet, pretending he wasn’t actually there. ‘Umm… well, I don’t. But my friend does’ – I replied. The Thai guy looked at Mr A and smiled. ‘Oh boom boom’ he said ‘I take you to boom boom in Chiang Mai’ – he showed him a prospect with some girls on it and said it would cost 500 baht to get there. I refused to pay for a  tuk tuk and said he could go alone. Mr A refused. He didn’t think he could do it alone. So, we went back, got lost again without Mr A getting laid.

The next day we went out for a dinner with Marion. Mr A was going on and on about having sex, so we decided to take him to the red light district in town and find him a girl. And so we did. We went from bar to bar, so he could look at girls. One of them didn’t have right teeth, the other was too pretty, the next one didn’t have good legs. We were getting frustrated. Finally, we got to a small bar where a really nice, beautiful girl served us drinks. We called her to the table (by we, I mean me and Marion). She played some games with us and chatted. We left her and Mr A alone after awhile. 

We really did hope that Mr A invited her over to his, but this morning it turned out that after an hour chatting her up he decided not to. I am never going to a brothel with him!

For those, who are curious how the prostitution works here – here’s a little explanation: normally you can pick up a girl off the street, but if you decide to get a girl at a bar, you need to be aware that you can’t just chat her up and offer a price. Normally, you need to spend time with her, entertain her and let her entertain you. It can take a certain amount of time for them to have sex with you. I actually like the fact that men need to make an effort.

There are a lot of bad places in Thailand. Streets with brothels where the girls are exploited. Luckily, Chiang Mai is not that bad. The red light district here is one street with bars where everyone can play pool and have drinks. The hostesses wear tiny skirts and lots of make up, but the whole atmosphere is pretty relaxed and not sleazy at all. It’s a weird combination. 

Have you ever been to Thailand? Have you ever had any experiences with the prostitution here?

 

